Purchase of artworks

Banquet – 2013 edition

 

 
 
 
Logo-Celebration 
A first edition of the Banquet took place on Friday 27th September 2013 to celebrate the fortieth anniversary of the museum, with the help of the artists Fabien Vallos and Jérémie Gaulin. For an evening, 350 people – among which many artists, art critics, curators and collectors that contributed to the museum’s History – were brought together to share a unique moment of conviviality around a real Banquet à la française imagined by the artists.
 
Entitled “Celebration”, this Banquet gave way to a festive atmosphere, discussions and encounters. We received the support of the Union des Grands Crus de Bordeaux, who was also celebrating its fortieth anniversary and generously offered all the wine.  
 
The price of the meal is 300 euros per person and is paid as a donation, entitling you to a fiscal deduction of 60% for companies (therefore a real cost of 120 euros) and 66% for individuals (therefore a real cost of 102 euros). Each paying meal allowed us to invite an artist, an art critic or an artistic personality that was important to the CAPC’s history.
 

This donation allows the entrepreneurs of Bordeaux to contribute to the influence of their city and region, by enriching the CAPC’s artwork collection and offering to the guests a networking venue.

Dress code : black tie and cocktail dress

 
Download the invitation to the Banquet
Download the response-card to the Banquet

For more information please do not hesitate to contact us 

The Friends of the CAPC thank the following people for their generous support: 
 
LOGO-CAPC-40-BIG        LOGO_UGC_ROND        blason hd
 
 
 
CHATEAU_DE_LAUBADE-    Imprimer
 
logo-CAFA-couleur         311579_235826746467643_1269152156_n     riedel_gvs_2011_schwarz_E
 
 

Purchase of two works by Michael Krebber

 

Following the success of the charity Banquet organised at the end of September 2013, the Friends of the CAPC purchased two works by the German artist Michael Krebber, to donate to the CAPC’s collection. The benefits of the event largely contributed to this acquisition.

Michael Krebber is considered today to be one of the most influential personnalities of the contemporary international artistic scene. He had a personal exhibition in the nave of the CAPC contemporary art museum, from November 2012 to February 2013.

These two artworks donated by the Friends of the CAPC allow the museum’s collection to be considerable enriched with the work of an artist that is new to French public collections.

7 

Michael Krebber
C-A-N-V-A-S Painting 5
2011
Acrylic on linen

139.7 x 106.7 cm 
Collection of the CAPC musée d’art contemporain de Bordeaux
Courtesy Gallery Greene Naftali, New York
Donation of the Friends of the CAPC in 2013

8

Michael Krebber
Jerry Magoo Painting 3
2011
Acrylic on linen

139.7 x 106.7 cm 
Collection of the CAPC musée d’art contemporain de Bordeaux
Courtesy Gallery Greene Naftali, New York
Donation of the Friends of the CAPC in 2013

Ticket Mécène

Garait Leavenworth
 
Unprecedented in France, the Ticket Mécène® operation launched by the CAPC contemporary art museum of Bordeaux is a campaign of mobilization for the enrichment of public collections. The CAPC’s visitors are invited to become benefactors of the collection, establishing a direct link between the citizen and the museum.
 
Unique in France, this system integrates the new ideas of “crowd funding” in the artistic sphere and adds to the usual process of acquisitions and enrichment of collections.
 
It allows the public at large to get directly involved in the life of a collection.
The CAPC proposes a special additional contribution of a minimum of 3€, with the entrance ticket to the museum.
With Ticket Mécène, the visitor leaves with a symbolic piece of the artwork and becomes the generous benefactor of the CAPC. The visual of the artwork is made up of a “magnet puzzle” poster. Each visitor-contributor is given a piece of the magnet, that is to say a “piece of the work” that he may choose.
 
Each donor is kept informed of the operation by email (overtaking of symbolic thresholds, finalisation of the campaign, rendez-vous). At the end of the campaign, all the donors, big and small, are invited to the presentation of the artwork at the museum, with a moment of conviviality, a conference, a presentation by the artist, a drink, etc.
 
In collaboration with the Friends of the CAPC who match every euro given by the public, the donation is multiplied by two.
This artwork, purchased from the Bordeaux gallery Cortex Athletico, supports the cultural actors of the territory.

Download the press dossier for the Ticket Mécène operation here 
More information here

Acquisition of “Montezuma’s Revenge” by Jim Shaw

 

Montezuma’s Revenge was part of the important exhibition Jim Shaw, Left Behind, that was held at the CAPC from May to September 2010. This exhibition welcomed more than 60.000 visitors, a record.

A celebrated personnality of the Californian artistic scene, Jim Shaw whares with Paul McCarthy and Mike Kelley the same desire to produce visual art that looks to explore the dark side of the conservative and standardized American society.
Jim Shaw takes his inspiration from vernacular culture beyond the categories established by History of art: amateur paintings found in second-hand shops, objects of popular culture, comic books, rock music, second-rate films, etc.

Montezuma’s Revenge is a monumental painting whose extraordinary dimensions (6 x 11,5 m!) make it a very unique artwork in the field of contemporary artistic creation.
On a old theatre decor curtain representing an abandoned town of the Far West, the artist has painted a series of symbols representing different forms of apocalypse: signs of various predictions of the end of the world of which the one planned by the Maya calendar in 2012, mortal illnesses, gurus of sects, predatory economies, terrorists, etc. The symbols seem to be escaping from the central orifice to colonise the entire surface of the canvas like insects. The use of gold paint gives them a precious aspect that is a reminder of religious painting.

The Friends of the CAPC started a widespread public subscription, giving everyone the possibility of contributing to this exceptional purchase. With the support of the artist and his gallery, the City of Bordeaux and the Friends of the CAPC were able to purchase this major artwork, in order for it to become part of the museum’s collection.

Acquisition of “Mirrors” by Philippe Decrauzat

 

In March 2010, the Friends of the CAPC purchased the work Mirrors by the Swiss artist Philippe Decrauzat.

Download here the press release on the purchase.

More information on the artist here (website of the Galerie Praz-Delavallade)

Selection 3

The work was shown as part of the Le Château exhibition (2011) at the CAPC

achat d’oeuvre

Banquet – édition 2013

 
 
 
Logo-Celebration 
Une première édition du Banquet a été organisée le vendredi 27 septembre 2013 pour les quarante ans du musée, avec la complicité des artistes Fabien Vallos et Jérémie Gaulin. Le temps d’une soirée, 350 personnes – dont de nombreux artistes, critiques, commissaires et collectionneurs qui ont fait l’Histoire du musée – ont été réunies afin de partager un moment de convivialité unique autour d’un véritable Banquet à la française imaginé par leurs soins.
 
Sous l’appellation « Célébration », ce banquet a été prétexte à la festivité, aux bavardages et à la rencontre. Notre partenaire était l’Union des Grands Crus de Bordeaux, qui fêtait aussi ses quarante ans, et qui offrait généreusement les vins.
 
Le prix du repas par personne était de 300 euros et a été effectué sous la forme d’un don, permettant la défiscalisation de 60% pour les entreprises (soit un prix réel de 120 euros) et de 66% pour les particuliers (soit un prix réel de 102 euros). Chaque repas payant permettait également d’inviter au diner un artiste, critique d’art ou personnalité artistique ayant marqué l’Histoire du CAPC.
 
Cette dotation a permis à la société civile bordelaise d’œuvrer pour le rayonnement culturel de sa ville et de sa région, en enrichissant la collection du CAPC et en proposant à cette même société civile un lieu de rencontre et de réseau. Code vestimentaire : costume sombre et robe de cocktail
 
L’association des Amis du CAPC remercie ses partenaires pour cet événement :
 
 
LOGO-CAPC-40-BIG        LOGO_UGC_ROND        blason hd
 
 
 
CHATEAU_DE_LAUBADE-    Imprimer
 
logo-CAFA-couleur         311579_235826746467643_1269152156_n     riedel_gvs_2011_schwarz_E
 
 

Acquisition de deux oeuvres de Michael Krebber

Suite au succès du Banquet caritatif organisé fin septembre 2013, l’association des Amis du CAPC a fait l’acquisition de deux oeuvres de l’artiste allemand Michael Krebber, pour en faire don à la collection du CAPC musée d’art contemporain. Le bénéfice de la soirée a grandement contribué à cette acquisition.

Michael Krebber est aujourd’hui considéré comme l’une des personnalités les plus emblématiques de la scène artistique contemporaine internationale. Il a été présenté dans le cadre d’une exposition monographique dans la nef du CAPC musée d’art contemporain, de novembre 2012 à février 2013.

Ces deux oeuvres offertes par les Amis du CAPC permettent à la collection du musée de s’enrichir du travail d’un artiste inédit dans les collections publiques françaises.

7 

Michael Krebber
C-A-N-V-A-S Painting 5
2011
Acrylique sur lin

139.7 x 106.7 cm 
Collection du CAPC musée d’art contemporain de Bordeaux
Courtesy Gallery Greene Naftali, New York
Don des Amis du CAPC en 2013

8

Michael Krebber
Jerry Magoo Painting 3
2011
Acrylique sur lin

139.7 x 106.7 cm 
Collection du CAPC musée d’art contemporain de Bordeaux
Courtesy Gallery Greene Naftali, New York
Don des Amis du CAPC en 2013

Ticket Mécène

Garait Leavenworth
 
Première en France, l’opération Ticket Mécène® lancée par le CAPC musée d’art contemporain de Bordeaux, est une campagne de mobilisation pour l’enrichissement de ses collections publiques. Les visiteurs du CAPC sont invités à devenir acteurs-bienfaiteurs de la collection, établissant ainsi un lien direct entre le citoyen et son musée.

Unique parmi les musées en France, ce dispositif intègre pleinement les nouveaux réflexes du « crowd funding » (financement participatif) dans la sphère artistique et vient s’ajouter aux processus habituels d’acquisition et d’enrichissement des collections.

Elle permet au grand public de s’impliquer directement dans la vie d’une collection.
Le CAPC propose une contribution spéciale de 3 € minimum en complément du billet d’entrée au public à l’accueil du musée.
Avec Ticket Mécène, le visiteur repart avec un morceau symbolique de l’oeuvre et devient généreux bienfaiteur du CAPC. Le visuel de l’oeuvre à l’accueil du musée est composé d’une affiche en « puzzle de magnets ». Chaque visiteur contributeur se voit offrir un magnet, c’est-à-dire un « morceau de l’oeuvre » qu’il peut choisir à sa guise.

Chaque donateur est informé de l’évolution de l’opération par mail (dépassement des seuils symboliques, finalisation de la campagne, prochains rendez-vous). Au terme de la campagne, tous les donateurs, petits comme grands, sont invités à la présentation de l’oeuvre au musée, autour d’un temps de convivialité, conférence, présentation par l’artiste, verre…

En partenariat avec l’association des Amis du CAPC, chaque euro est abondé d’un euro complémentaire, ce qui multiplie l’impact du don par deux.
Cette oeuvre, achetée à la galerie bordelaise Cortex Athletico, participe d’un soutien aux acteurs de la culture du territoire.

Téléchargez le dossier de presse de l’opération Ticket Mécène ici
Plus d’informations ici

Acquisition de « Montezuma’s Revenge » de Jim Shaw

Montezuma’s Revenge faisait partie de l’accrochage emblématique de l’exposition Jim Shaw, Left Behind, qui s’est tenue au CAPC de mai à septembre 2010. Cette exposition a fait date au musée, accueillant plus de 60 000 visiteurs, un record de fréquentation historique.

Personnalité reconnue du milieu artistique californien, Jim Shaw partage avec Paul McCarthy et Mike Kelley un même désir de produire une oeuvre plastique visant à explorer le côté obscur d’une société américaine conformiste et standardisée.
Jim Shaw puise son inspiration dans une culture vernaculaire en deçà des catégories établies par l’histoire de l’art : tableaux d’amateurs récupérés dans des brocantes, objets de cultes populaires, BD, musique rock, films de série B, etc.

Montezuma’s Revenge est une peinture monumentale dont les dimensions extraordinaires (6 x 11,5 mètres !) en font une oeuvre toute à fait singulière dans le champ de la création artistique contemporaine.
Sur un ancien rideau de décor de théâtre représentant une ville abandonnée du Far-West américain, l’artiste a peint une série de symboles représentant différentes formes d’apocalypse : on y voit les signes de diverses prédictions de fins du monde dont celle prévue par le calendrier Maya en 2012, de maladies mortelles, de gourous de sectes, d’économies prédatrices, de terroristes, etc. Les symboles semblent s’échapper de l’orifice central pour aller coloniser toute la surface de la toile tels des insectes. Leur traitement à la peinture dorée leur confère une forme de préciosité qui rappelle la peinture religieuse.

L’association des Amis du CAPC a lancé une grande souscription publique, en donnant la possibilité à chacun de participer à cet achat exceptionnel. Avec le soutien de l’artiste et de sa galerie, laVille de Bordeaux et les Amis du CAPC ont donc pu acheter cette oeuvre majeure, afin qu’elle intègre les collections du musée.

Acquisition de « Mirrors » de Philippe Decrauzat

Les Amis du CAPC ont fait l’acquisition, en mars 2010, de l’oeuvre Mirrors de l’artiste suisse Philippe Decrauzat.

Téléchargez ici le communiqué de presse sur l’acquisition.

Plus d’informations sur l’artiste ici (site de la Galerie Praz-Delavallade)

Selection 3

L’oeuvre exposée dans le cadre de l’exposition Le Château (2011) au CAPC